Do birds have babies in the winter?

Some wild bird species begin laying eggs in winter. Doves and pigeons breed throughout the year. These birds rely upon year-round food in people’s gardens. The crossbill lays eggs as early as January to take advantage of an abundance of winter pine seeds. Some bald eagles begin breeding in January.