What happens to bad children at christmas?

Bad children receive a lump of coal in their stocking at christmas.

---

Modern tradition holds that Santa gives naughty children a lump of coal. Older traditions give that responsibility to Krampus, who also swats naughty children with a bundle of birch branches called a Ruten.