What is the difference between plaque and tartar?

Plaque is a soft, clear or yellow film of bacteria that a person can remove by brushing their teeth. If plaque sits on the teeth too long, it hardens to create tartar. Tartar usually has a darker color, and only a dental professional can remove it.

---

Tartar is what accumulates on your teeth when plaque is not removed. If plaque is left on your teeth for too long, it will harden into tartar and is much more difficult to remove.