What is the difference between plaque and tartar?

Plaque is a soft, clear or yellow film of bacteria that a person can remove by brushing their teeth. If plaque sits on the teeth too long, it hardens to create tartar. Tartar usually has a darker color, and only a dental professional can remove it.