Why can't dogs eat grapes?

Grape toxicity is linked with kidney damage. Eating grapes can result in sudden kidney failure and even death. The toxic substance in grapes is unknown, but dogs cannot metabolize tannins, flavonoids, or monosaccharides in grapes.