What are pregnancy cravings?

The intense desire for certain foods during pregnancy. Thought to be related to the body's need for certain elements or nutrients (i.e. desire for pickles=may be need Sodium; craving for bananas=perhaps is need for Potassium, etc. This is just an hypothesis--the exact reasons are unknown.