Why was franklin d. roosevelt president for twelve years?

As FDR's second term was approaching its final year, World War Two began in Europe. He became convinced that if he didn't run again an isolationist would be elected and that would mean eventual disaster for the United States. In 1944, he felt he needed to stay on to conclude the war.