What are the characteristics of a fruit?

Botanically a fruit usually develops from a flower of a plant. They also contain within them either a large seed or numerous little seeds. However culinarily fruits can have different meanings, for example botanically a bell pepper is considered a fruit but culinarily it is used as a vegetable.