Why do cats sleep on their back?

Cats sleep on their backs when they feel safe in their surroundings. Some cats sleep on their backs when seeking attention. Consequently, female cats usually sleep on their backs when they are in heat to attract mates. If your cat has a digestive issue, it may be trying to find relief on its back.