Are raw potatoes bad for you?

It's not the best idea. While potatoes can be eaten raw, per LIVESTRONG, one should do so in moderation due to certain risks. According to the outlet, raw potatoes contain lectins, an antinutrient present in all raw plants, which can cause stomach upset, diarrhea, and other gastrointestinal issues.

---

No, not normally. It is not recommended to eat potatoes raw as they contain enough starch to render them unappetizing. Cooking them reduces the amount of starch to a point they are delicious alone, as a side dish or an ingredient in many recipes.