Who were the original inhabitants of england?

Several species of humans have occupied England for a million years. Evidence of human occupation around 900000 years ago is at Happisburgh on the Norfolk coast, with stone tools and footprints made by Homo antecessor. Homo heidelbergensis fossils, around 500000 years old, are in Sussex.