How is glass made?

Glass is made from liquid sand. You can make glass by heating ordinary sand (which is mostly made of silicon dioxide) until it melts and turns into a liquid. It's like a cross between a solid and a liquid with some of the crystalline order of a solid and some of the molecular randomness of a liquid.

---

Glass is made by melting silicon dioxide with other raw materials, such as soda ash and limestone, at high temperatures. The melted mixture is then cooled rapidly to form a solid, transparent material. By controlling the cooling, different types of glass are obtained (tempered, laminated, etc)