How is jam made?

Jam is typically made from chunks of fruit (chopped or crushed), cooked with sugar until the fruit reduces down and thickens to a spreadable consistency. Berries, grapes and other small fruits are typically used, as well as larger cut-up stone fruits like apricots, peaches and plums.