What chemical is used to recycle the gold?

Aqua regia is a mixture of hydrochloric acid and nitric acid. Precious metals like gold are inert and do not react to a single acid solution. A combination of hydrochloric and nitric acid will dissolve the gold for recovery; however, the process releases toxic fumes dangerous to humans