When did they stop making pennies in canada?

The production of the Canadian penny was stopped in May 2012, and its distribution ceased in February 2013, due to its high production cost compared to its low purchasing power. Pennies are no longer used in cash transactions, with payments rounded to the nearest five-cent increment.