Why does cheese stink?

The stinky door comes from the microbial breakdown of proteins in the cheese, a process that releases pungent gases, like the volatile fatty acids propanoic acid and isovaleric acid. Microbes also break down methionine into stinky sulfur compounds (methanethiol, dimethylsulfide, dimethyltrisulfide).