What is the difference between a tornado warning and a tornado watch?

A watch is issued when conditions are favorable, for example, either for a severe thunderstorm or tornadoes. It doesn't mean severe weather is imminent. A warning means that either a tornado has been spotted or a radar has picked one up.

---

If a tornado warning is issued for your area, you should immediately seek shelter and get to your safe place until the tornado threat has passed. This means a tornado is imminent. A tornado watch means weather conditions are right for tornadoes to form so you should remain alert.