How many years are in one lightyear?

A lightyear is not a time unit. It is the distance light travels in one year and is equivalent to about 9.46 trillion kilometers.

---

light year is how far light travels in a year.Light-year is the distance light travels in one year. Light zips through interstellar space at 186,000 miles (300,000 kilometers) per second and 5.88 trillion miles (9.46 trillion kilometers) per year.