What's the fastest way to find diamonds?

A very effective way to find Diamonds is to branch mine. This involves covering a lot of surface area by making a 2x2 tunnel and digging individual “branches” out from it every third block. By doing this you're covering a lot of ground quickly without breaking any unnecessary blocks.