Is marinara sauce the same as pizza sauce?

Marinara sauce refers to a particular type of sauce while a pizza sauce can be any sort of tomato-based sauce that you can use on top of a pizza. Some people even use the marinara sauce as a pizza sauce and no one can tell the difference.