What is p.m. in what is a.m.?

P.M. stands for Post Meridian, A.M. stands for Ante Meridian. This is a measure of where the sun is, either ante (before) or post (after), to a given latitude (meridian) around the globe.

---

AM is an abbreviation of the Latin phrase ante merīdiem meaning before midday. PM is an abbreviation of the Latin phrase post merīdiem, meaning after midday