Why are hot dogs called hot dogs?

As they were getting more and more popular, a new York times cartoonist named T.A. Dargan , decided to illustrate them in a cartoon but because he wasn't sure how to spell 'dachshund ' he called the illustrated sausages in a bun 'hot dogs' the name caught on and this is why we call them hot dogs