What was the black plague?

Also known as the Black Death, this was a bubonic plague pandemic occurring in Afro-Eurasia from 1346 to 1353. It caused the death of 75–200 million people in Eurasia and North Africa, peaking in Europe from 1347 to 1351. It originated either in Central Asia or East Asia.