What's the difference between a gerbil and a hamster?

Hamsters and gerbils are both small and furry but that is all they have in common. Gerbil have long tails, longer legs, and skinny faces. Gerbils are not as fluffy as hamsters and are awake during the day. Hamsters are nocturnal, they have short, stubby tails and big cheeks to carry food around.