What does d. p. l. stand for?

A procedure used to determine whether blunt trauma victims require surgery (diagnostic peritoneal lavage). DPL helps determine whether an intra-abdominal injury exists and whether surgery is required. Using local anesthesia, the surgeon makes a small incision in the abdomen just below the umbilicus.