What's the difference between a bug and an insect?

Bugs are a type of insect. Bugs have a mouth shaped like a straw to suck juices. All bugs are insects but not all insects are bugs. Insects have mouth parts for chewing and sponging. Both terms are used interchangeably which is acceptable.