What are flowery potatoes?

Floury potatoes contain more dry matter, the part of the potato that isn't water, and starch than waxy potatoes. When the potato cooks, the starch hardens and the content expands, which means that the skin often splits. If you're not sure whether your potatoes are waxy or floury, run a cooking test.