What is the difference between a hotel and motel?

A hotel is a place where people can rent a permanent full-sized residence with full compliment of utilitarian features such as stores and laundry. A motel is a temporary place to rent with very limited living space and few if any utilitarian benefits such as a laundry or shopping.