What makes things rise baking soda or baking powder?

Both baking powder and baking soda make things rise. Soda is one chemical that needs an acid source to activate and cause rising. Usually the recipe has sour milk, lemon juice, or vinegar. Baking powder is the same as baking powder plus the acid that is powdered. When it gets wet both parts react.