What is channeling do in minecraft?

Channeling summons a lightning bolt when a mob is hit by a thrown trident if there is currently a thunderstorm occurring. The mob must be exposed to the open sky for the enchantment to work. ... In Java Edition, Channeling doesn't affect mobs in some circumstances.