What is a blue water ghost?

A "blue water ghost" is a term that is used to describe a ship or other vessel that has been lost at sea, and is said to still be afloat, ghostly, and abandoned. The term can also be used to describe a ship that was lost without a trace, and its crew and passengers are never found.