How does spider-man turn into venom?

In the comics & movies, Venom is the result of an alien symbiote merged with a human. Venom is a Symbiote created from Spider-Man's DNA by Doctor Octopus for Norman Osborn and Oscorp. This living organism that can attach itself to a human host to form an almost unstoppable villain.