How many shells are in the ocean?

Many groups of animals in the ocean have a tough shell, or exoskeleton, which helps to protect them from predators and wave action. When these animals die, or moult (the process of shedding the shell in order to grow bigger), the shell is left behind and is sometimes washed up on the shoreline.