How do you get red stone in minecraft?

You can obtain it either by mining a block of redstone ore or by acquiring it from mob/dungeon loot. Redstone occurs across certain biomes in lower levels of the terrain. You are more likely to see redstone ore in caverns in cube-shaped veins