Where do people go when they're dead?

Based on the best available science, you don't go anywhere once you are dead. As the brain dies, you simply cease to exist as a consciousness, and your body, no longer capable of self maintenance, decomposes. However, different religions have proposed other scenarios, albeit without evidence.