How many cartoon characters are there?

There many sources of illustrated content that involve the art of cartoon: newspapers, television, movies, graphic novels, and more. Some characters are protagonists, antagonists, supporting, featured, and environmental. I cannot count all of the characters across time, but I would guess millions.