Do crabs breathe air?

Crabs don’t really breathe air. As long as their gills are moist, the oxygen in the air will diffuse into the moisture around their gills which allows the crab to breathe. Also, a crab’s gills are surrounded by plates that prevent the moisture around their gills from drying out.