How do you soften brown sugar in the microwave?

To soften brown sugar in a microwave, put a moist paper towel in a plastic bag with the sugar and microwave it for 20 seconds. Or, if you prefer not to microwave plastic, you could also put the sugar in a glass or ceramic bowl with a moist paper towel and cover it with a lid or plate.

---

To soften brown sugar in the microwave, put the brown sugar lump in a microwave-safe bowl. Wet a paper towel and wring it out so it's lightly damp. Cover the bowl and microwave in 10-second bursts until the sugar is crumbly again.