How do you soften brown sugar in the microwave?

To soften brown sugar in a microwave, put a moist paper towel in a plastic bag with the sugar and microwave it for 20 seconds. Or, if you prefer not to microwave plastic, you could also put the sugar in a glass or ceramic bowl with a moist paper towel and cover it with a lid or plate.