How long do you cook a steak to make it medium rare?

To cook a steak medium rare, cook for 5 to 7 minutes at 140 degrees Fahrenheit.

---

Place the steaks on the grill and cook until brown and slightly charred, 4 to 5 minutes. Turn the steaks over and continue to grill 3 to 5 minutes for medium-rare an internal temperature of 135 degrees, 5 to 7 minutes for medium 140 degrees or 8 to 10 minutes for medium-well 150 degrees