What is banded quartz?

Banded quartz refers to a type of rock made up of bands or layers of quartz. The bands in banded quartz are composed of parallel layers of microcrystalline quartz, and they can have a variety of textures. The colors can range from white to gray, black, and even red, depending on the mineral content.