What's an m. one grand?

The M1 Garand or M1 Rifle is a . 30-06 caliber semi-automatic battle rifle that was the standard U.S. service rifle during World War II and the Korean War and also saw limited service during the Vietnam War. ... Patton called it "the greatest battle implement ever devised".