Why does a duck have a tail?

Ducks have tails to keep their bodies warm which duck wag there tails to keep their bodies warm as the tail functions as a counter balance for the ducks body which is usually much lighter then the wings and when the tail starts to wag it helps make the duck move faster or fly longer distance.