Who is thomas sankhara?

Thomas Sankara was a military officer who became President of Burkina Faso after a military coup in 1983. He held that position until 1987, when he was killed during another coup. He was viewed by supporters as an iconic figure of revolution and is sometimes referred to as "Africa's Che Guevara".