What year was the nine eleven disaster?

September 11, 2001, 8:46 a.m. EDT. The September 11 attacks, also commonly referred to as 9/11, were a series of four coordinated terrorist attacks by the militant Islamist terrorist group al-Qaeda against the United States on the morning of Tuesday, September 11, 2001.