Where does the pineapple originate from?

pineapple is believed to have originated in the Brazilian rainforests. Pineapples were harvested by the native tribes and spread throughout South and Central America. When Christopher Columbus landed in the new world in 1493, the Spaniards named the fruit “piña” due to its resemblance to a pinecone