What is the olive theory?

The Olive Theory is first mentioned on the TV Show How I Met Your Mother. On a date Ted explains that "Based on my friends Marshal and Lily. He hates olives. She loves them. That's what makes them such a great couple, perfect balance!" thus the Olive theory is just like opposites attract.