How many united state's presidents have been assassinated?

4 American presidents have been assassinated. Abraham Lincoln on April 14, 1865, James A. Garfield on July 2, 1881, dying 79 days later, William McKinley on September 6, 1901, dying 8 days later, and John F. Kennedy on November 22, 1963