What are stamps made out of?

Date stamps and similar stamps with a variety of phrases are made of strips of rubber with the numbers or phrases impressed in them. The rubber-band-like strips are seamless and are placed on metal mounts that can be rotated with a dial or a key on the side of the collection of stamps.