What year was the steam train invented?

The first commercially successful steam locomotive was built in 1812–13 by John Blenkinsop. Locomotion No. 1, built by George Stephenson and his son Robert's company Robert Stephenson and Company, was the first steam locomotive to haul passengers on a public railway,in1825.