Who made hallelujah famous?

The word "hallelujah" is of Hebrew origin and commonly used as an expression of praise in modern times. The song "Hallelujah" is written by Canadian singer Leonard Cohen, originally released on his album Various Positions (1984). Subsequent remakes by other artists have boosted it's popularity.