What color is the solar eclipse?

The Sun appears as a narrower and narrower crescent. Light and Color Changes – About 15 minutes before totality, when 80% of the sun is covered, the light level begins to fall noticeably — and with increasing rapidity. The landscape takes on a metallic gray-blue hue.